Station 11, description

This undated hand drawn map shows the territory of the Duchy of Mecklenburg-Schwerin between the third partition of Mecklenburg in 1701 and the Malmö Treaty of 1803, with which Sweden returned Wismar to the duchy. The map does not include the town of Ludwigslust between Neustadt, Grabow and Eldena. Luwigslust was established as a ducal residence in the middle of the 18th century. The map provides information on lines of communication and settlements. Numerous place names in the western part of the region have been added by hand subsequently. The level of detail, however, is not on par with that of the most important contemporary maps of the duchy, which the Berlin Academy of Sciences issued in 1764.

Scroll to Top