Station 4, description

This map shows parts of southern Finland, specifically the historical province of Nyland (Finnish: Uusimaa) with the surrounding lands, shortly before Sweden had to cede these territories to Russia as a result of the Finnish War (1809). The uncoloured areas in the southeast (beyond the River Kymijoki/Kymmene älv) had already been surrendered to Russia in the Peace of Åbo in 1743. During the 18th century, as a consequence of the Great Northern War, balance of power in the eastern Baltic gradually shifted from Sweden to Russia. The struggle between both powers manifested itself with particular force in the contest over southern Finland.

Scroll to Top