Station 5, description

In 1747, the Nuremberg publishing house of Homann issued this map of Courland and Semigallia, a duchy under the dominion of the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth. While the map was published under the name of architect Johann Christoph Barnickel of Mitau (ca. 1700-1746), it was actually created by pastor Adolph Grot (1676-1726) from Courland, who travelled the region from 1718 to 1725. Both cartouches show the duchy’s coat of arms and express contemporary views of what was supposed to be typical of Courland: Rich crops of cereals, abundant fishing grounds and wild nature.

Scroll to Top