Beginning in the 1780s, the star-shaped fortifications of Hanover were razed. The sconces, bastions and moats of the fortifications had their origins in the Middle Ages and had last been reinforced during the Seven Years’ War. By razing the walls, the growing capital of the Electorate of Hanover gained space for further expansion. The wall’s total length was 2.8km. The newly won space was used to create tree-lined boulevards and streets that contemporary travelogues describe as one of the city’s particularly pleasant features. This city-map shows all the representative buildings that expressed the glory and might of the House of Guelph, whose head ruled both the Electorate and the United Kingdom in personal union from the capital London. In addition to the city palace and the palace church, these hotspots of Guelph representation include the grand stables, to which the map refers as “des Königs Pferde-Ställe” (the royal stud), as well as (outside the map’s scope) the summer residence in Herrenhausen with the Baroque gardens, which was linked to the city by a boulevard, and the Royal Library. The latter was located in the building of the archives and was opened for visitors and readers in the 18th century. Today’s Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Bibliothek – Niedersächsische Landesbibliothek is the successor institution of the Royal Library. The library’s privilege of legal deposit for the state of Lower Saxony reflects this tradition and dates back to an earlier regulation from 1737.